book review: the memory of after (aka level 2)

bird on a pencil

The Memory of After (The Memory Chronicles, #1)The Memory of After by Lenore Appelhans

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

This book was quite interesting. It takes place in Level 2: the afterlife, as experienced by those who’ve not yet moved on to whatever comes next (heaven/hell/??).

Felicia (a unique, old-fashioned name for a modern book) died the day before her 18th birthday. We don’t know the circumstances of her death, only that she has been stuck in Level 2 for what feels to her like eons. In Level 2, people are drones. They live in a hive-like structure, and their days are filled with accessing and reliving memories: of their own lives, and the lives of others. They utilize a credit system to purchase and sell memories.

The way this book unfolds is in a mixture of real-time and memories. Each time Felicia accesses a memory, we learn a bit more about her story.

Slowly, what…

View original post 295 more words


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s