Disobeying Anne Lamott : A Note-To-Self For Boston

For The Most Kiki In The Morning

5:29 AM – Jacked-up the coffee again. Oh well.

***

“I know I set out to tell you every single thing I know about writing, but I am also going to tell you every single thing I know about school lunches, partly because the longings and dynamics and anxieties are so similar.” – Anne Lamott

Over the weekend, I decided to use my Kiki Mornings site for working through Anne Lamott’s Bird By Bird. This will take at least a month, maybe more, moving chapter by chapter, perhaps pausing in one four page section for several days as I meditate on a particular writing “truth” or technique or idea. Here at this time of day, after screwing up the coffee and finally pouring another one, watching the clock move closer to my roll call in an early morning class, I know this task with Lamott is an act of discipline.

In the…

View original post 399 more words

Leave a Reply

