Great Books and a Quote

PeaceCorpsTalkStory

How to Cook

How to Cook a Crocodile: A memoir with recipes.  Bonnie Lee Black.  Peace Corps Writers, 2010.

Bonnie has produced a well written and very interesting Peace Corps memoir of her time in Gabon.  As she was writing from an adult female point of view I found it relatable, even though I served as a young adult.  Perhaps the best part of her book is the way she introduces us to the people of her village in Gabon.  Her characters are interesting and strong.   It’s one of the few books that left me feeling that I was actually there.  Even more, I wish that I was there, even though I’m sure that I could not take the heat.

Hey Joe01 “Hey Joe” Poems and Stories from the Peace Corps.  Robert F. Nicholas.  Robert F. Nicholas, 2013.

Bob served in the Philippines, on the island of Romblon from 1968-1970.  Nearly every poem…

View original post 148 more words

Leave a Reply

