Healthy Bread in 5 Minutes a Day: Why I love this book

The Healthy Home Cook

Alright, so you already know I love whole grains and that I stick to them whenever possible. So it should come as no surprise that I like to bake my own whole grain bread. My favorite shortcut? Healthy Bread in 5 Minutes a Day, by Jeff Hertzberg, M.D. and Zoe Francois.

Unknown-1

 

This great book really does stand up to it’s claim – although maybe sometimes that 5 minutes is really more like 10, but with bread baking, what’s an extra 5 minutes anyway? Now, some of the recipes are pretty dense, some less so, but I know I can always feel good about eating what I make. Also? Making your own bread can save you some serious dough… ahem.

The basic concept? Mix up a batch of dough, let it rise, stick it in the fridge, pull off a chunk when you want to make something. No kneading, not…

View original post 237 more words

Leave a Reply

