Pride and Prejudice

sydneyreadseverything

Elizabeth Bennet and Mr. Darcy

Pride and Prejudice, Jane Austen, 1813

Originally, I wasn’t going to reread anything for this project.  However, now it would seem strange to skip over major works of literature in my chronological journey through the canon.  So, I am adding books to the list that I have already read, but I forgot to add Pride and Prejudice until after I read Emma and Mansfield Park.  Hence, my Austen chronology has gotten mixed up and my opinion of Austen got mixed up with it.

Here’s a summary of how I felt as I read the first 4 of 6 Austen novels on my list:

Before: Ugh, so much Austen.

During Sense and Sensibilty:Ugh.  Yuck.  Blergh.

During Mansfield Park:Yawn.  Why does anybody read this stuff?

During Emma:Ok, Austen, I’m not too mad.  Emma is kind of a worthless B, though.

During Pride and Prejudice:OMG, Darcy…

View original post 824 more words

Leave a Reply

