Simple Synopses Please

Anastasia's Journal

Okay, for those of you who are going the traditional publishing route, chances are that the publisher will want a synopsis of your book so that he doesn’t have to read the whole thing to know what it’s about.

Unfortunately, there is very little advice I can give regarding that sort of writing. I’ve tried to write one, and half way through it I realized that I was just rewriting my book without dialogue.

I’ve read about how to write one from multitudes of sources, online and print. So, what I learned is that you should write your synopsis as the events unfold around your main character. Subplots are to be left out, and side characters should only be mentioned if they come directly into contact with your main character.

I suppose I should give you an example, right? Since what I just wrote may sound like a load of…

View original post 405 more words

Leave a Reply

