Tess of the D’Urbervilles – Thomas Hardy

Book Club for One

tess

‘Tess of the D’Urbervilles’ was first published in 1891, and I imagine it caused quite a stir.  According to some notes provided by the author at the front of my copy, he received quite a few complaints regarding the content of this novel.

It has taken me an age to finish reading this book.  Two reasons – 1, a deep sense of impending doom from the narrative.  2, I made the mistake of reading the back of the cover which should have come with a warning.  The whole plot, every major plot twist was given away in one paragraph.  Knowing what was going to happen to poor Tess was almost more than I could stand.  Towards the end of the book I couldn’t take it anymore and started reading it backwards chapter by chapter which seemed to help.  I finally finished it today, and to celebrate I had a simple…

View original post 528 more words

Leave a Reply

