The Hard Truth on “Hard News”

50in50blog

On a more serious note, the week before I read “Bossypants” (I know, I know, I’m behind on posting), I cheated a little bit and read a book that I need to read and write a book review on for my journalism ethics class.

Here are a few excerpts of what I wrote in my review:

The New York Times is a name that has come to be associated with all things media and journalism. As Seth Mnookin, author of “Hard News,” notes, “more than any other single source, the Times would come to represent the closest journalism could get to unvarnished truth,” (xii). In his book, Mnookin explores how this pillar of journalistic style and integrity fell by chronicling what he believes to be the key factor in the Times’ demise: the leadership of former executive editor Howell Raines.

According to Mnookin, “The New York Times’s struggle—with…

View original post 431 more words

Leave a Reply

